Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Book Review: Cold Kiss



Cold Kiss

by Amy Garvey
Release date: 11th October 2011
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 179 (ARC NetGalley)

Summary from Goodreads:

When her boyfriend, Danny, is killed in a car accident, Wren can’t imagine living without him. Wild with grief, she uses the untamed powers she’s inherited to bring him back. But the Danny who returns is just a shell of the boy she once loved.

Wren has spent four months keeping Danny hidden, while her life slowly unravels around her. Then Gabriel DeMarnes transfers to her school and somehow, inexplicably, he can sense her secret. Wren finds herself drawn to Gabriel, who is so much more alive than the ghost of the boy she loved. But Wren can’t turn her back on Danny or the choice she made for him—and she realizes she must find a way to make things right, even if it means breaking her own heart.

Amy Garvey’s transcendent teen debut is perfect for fans of Shiver and Beautiful Creatures. Wren’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

Review By Alaiel Kreuz:

I finished the book a few hours ago and I'm still working on my thoughts about it. I believe that's a good thing. Wren's story is really difficult: her father left without a word and since then her mother has this new policy "if it's strange, don't say a word, it doesn't exist". But the thing is, all the women in their family are witches and before her dad left they used it pretty much all the time.
Now everything is different and when Wren discovers that she is starting to do things too she can't talk to her mother nor her aunt or granny because is prohibited.
Besides that she has good friends and a normal life, at least until her boyfriend, the only person that could look at her and not through her, dies in a car accident.
That's when everything starts to go wrong because you see, Wren decides to bring him back from the dead. And he does come back but of course, is not the same Danny anymore...

In one hand we have this sad story about a girl that loses her first love, which I think we all can agree is really horrible. But in the other hand we have this same girl being totally selfish. Why? Because she just thinks how sad and how miserable she is and, since she is a witch why not try to bring him back, right? No, that's a really bad bad thing. Sadly for her she realizes that way too late.
Still, I liked Wren because I know she is sorry for what she did and the way the author describes her feelings is just amazing, the sorrow and the pain she feels, the flashes of their past... I mean, it all was so well described that I couldn't put the book down.

Nevertheless, after almost losing her friends because she now spends all her free time with Danny and hiding from her mom most of the time just in case she notices the big mistake she did a new boy arrives at school. And he knows what she is and what she did but he is willing to help her. I really liked Gabriel, he is the kind of friend I'd love to have: caring, sweet and supportive. And of course so does Wren.

I hope there's going to be a second book, I'd love to know what really happened to Wren's dad and a few more things.

Alaiel's Rating:


If you really like it, you can find it here: